Header Ads

Iloilo City host its first-ever dragon boat, canoe and kayak competition at Iloilo River Esplanade!

The dragon boat, canoe and kayak contest highlighted the opening of the Iloilo River Esplanade along Treñas Boulevard on August 18, 2012

Ilonggos witnessed an exciting first-ever dragon boat, canoe and kayak competition held here over the weekend which ended on a high note. The event, dubbed as 1st Sen. Frank Drilon Dragon Boat, Canoe/Kayak Cup, was organized by the office of Sen. Drilon, the Philippine Sports Commission and Iloilo City Sports Council.

Eight participating groups consist of four each for the novice and the elite teams raced to a very exciting finish, with just seconds separating the winners from the second placers. Even the canoe and kayak race, with four participants each, had a photo finish to the delight of audiences.

The all-locals dragon boat novice category had four teams from the John B. Lacson Foundation Maritime University (JBLFMU) Arevalo Campus– A, B, C and D. Team C won with clock time of 3:51.82, trailed by Team A with 3:59.54; Team B had 4:12.43; and Team D with 4:20.32.

The kayak racing featured national canoe-kayak team members Hermie Macaranas, Edward Galang, Edgar Galang and Daniel Ortega. Macaranas finished the race with 3:08.51, ahead of the 3:12.33 clocked in by Edward Galang; the other Galang was not far behind with 3:12.87 while Ortega rowed last with3:33.97.

Other national team members, Ojay Fuentes, Reymark Nevado, Jairus Molina and Jonathan Ruz, competed in the junior canoe category. Fuentes led the canoe racers with 3:45.06, followed by Nevado (3:49.44), Molina (3:56.00) and Ruz (4:00.80).

Capping the water sports competition was the dragon boat mixed category with four elite participant groups coming from Boracay Island. The Guardians of Bumshells led the pack with 3:40.66, in second place was All Stars Boracay B (3:44.77), in third place All Stars Boracay A (3:47.53) and fourth placer Bugsay Boracay (4:17.52).

There were eight races in all with the teams competing in two heats. The ones with the lowest cumulative time were declared winners. Trophies and medals were given to the champions during the awarding ceremony.

Mabilog and Drilon graced the start of the race, together with Cong. Jerry Treñas and Cong. Manny Pacquiao, who fired the shot to signal the start of the competition.

Source: Iloilo City Government (Facebook)

Back to top

Top trending post

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.