Header Ads

PH bloggers group inducts 1st set of officers

Philippine Bloggers Network or PBNet
PBNet members and guests pose with DOST USec Louis Casambre, ICTO executive director,
during the organization’s year-end assembly in Mandaluyong City

A group of Filipino Bloggers sets up a formal organization with the induction of its officers and members last December 18, 2014 in Mandaluyong City. Philippine Bloggers Network or PBNet (bloggers.net.ph), is formed by Filipino bloggers who aim to take blogging in the country to higher grounds by conducting seminars and fora that are designed to help bloggers in taking online publishing to professional levels.

Louis Casambre, Department of Science and Technology undersecretary and executive director of Information and Communications Technology Office (DOST-ICTO), who inducted the officers and members of PBNet, said in his keynote address as PBNet looks for a brighter year ahead, “2015 will be very special. It will be the first year of Philippine free wi-fi and hopefully TV whitespace, which have the power to bring what all of us have been enjoying for so long. With these two, next year is our chance to fix the digital divide in our country and provide Internet in unserved areas. (Together with bloggers,) we should all rally behind it to make it work.”

PBNet members have been forging activities since 2013. Last year, during its first general membership meeting held at its Official Headquarters at vOffice, Bonifacio Global City, the following were elected as officers: Raffy Pedrajita (digitalspidey.com), president; Ian Irving Bacungan (theroguewriter.net), vice president internal; Ron Villagonzalo (wahpinas.com), vice president external; Rafael Pekson II (miniphilippines.com), secretary; Arabelle Jimenez (arabellejimenez.com), treasurer; Marlon Magtira (techTV.ph) and Azrael Coladilla (azraelcoladilla.com), directors.

Other members of the group include: GianCarlo Viterbo (gadgetpilipinas.net), Mary Anne Barbieto (buhaykuneho.net), Edel Santiago (thekitchengoddess.blogspot.com), Eli Villagonzalo (elifestylemanila.com), Myrna Roman (myrnaroman.com), Enzo Luna (juanmanilaexpress.com), Ted Claudio (wazzup.ph), and Irene Enriquez (girlygeek.ph).

With their own respective niche followers as online publishers, PBNet members cover travel, food, lifestyle, technology, business, and entertainment industries.

Pedrajita, Magtira and Bacungan promote blogging insights in Bloggers’ Hour radio program every Friday, 11:00AM-12:00NN at DWDD 1134lHz Katropa Radio with live streaming over dwdd.com.ph.

Villagonzalo, Pekson, and Enriquez are advocating freelance and work at home employment and entrepreneurship through a series of seminars.

In his message during the officers’ induction, Pedrajita said: “As PBNet aims to develop and enhance the skills toward responsible blogging of its members, the organization will be gearing up to spearhead in educating Filipino bloggers on ideal manners and proper ethics in delivering digital publication.”

“Being at the forefront of providing significant and credible information, PBNet will become the premier bloggers’ organization in the country,” Pedrajita said.

Back to top

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.